Diocese of La Crosse
Catholic Committee on Scouting

Home | Youth Religious Emblems | Adult Recognition | Unit Recognition
Patches | Committee Events | Committee Contacts | Gateway Area Council CCS | Chippewa Valley Council CCS | Samoset Council | Award Due Dates | Related Links

Youth Religious Emblems

National Youth Religious Emblems

Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Venturing
There are four Youth Religious Emblems available through the NCCS. Two that can be earned by Cub Scouts, one that can be earned by Boy Scouts, and one that can be earned by Boy Scouts and Venturing crew members.

The Light of Christ emblem can be earned by Tiger and Wolf Cub Scouts. The Parvuli Dei emblem can be earned by Bear and Webelos Cub Scouts. The Ad Altare Dei emblem can be earned by Roman Catholic Boy Scouts. The Pope Pius XII emblem can be earned by older Boy Scouts and Venturing crew members. Click on the emblem names to open a new window with NCCS requirements.

Cub Scout emblems are completed in a family setting with assistance of a trained Religious Emblems coordinator. These programs take approximately two months to complete. The Ad Altare Dei and Light is Life emblems are completed during scheduled meetings led by a trained Religious Emblems Counselor, with outside homework,  and take approximately 5-7 months to complete. The Pope Pius XII emblem is completed at scheduled meetings led by the participants, and moderated by a trained Religious Emblems Moderator, with outside homework. It takes approximately 9-12 sessions (4-6 months) to complete.

Upon completion, each candidate will meet with their parish priest, or his designate, to review what the Scout/Venturing crew member has learned. After this review, the Scout/Venturing crew member will receive a BSA religious knot at an appropriate unit presentation (Pack Meeting, Court of Honor), and the religious emblem at a parish/diocese ceremony.

All materials for the emblems can be purchased at your Scout Service Center or ordered through the BSA website.

Diocesan Youth Religious Emblems

The Father Marquette Award is designed for Catholic Boy Scouts and Venture Scouts between the ages of 16 and 21, who have provided exemplary service to their fellow scouts through Catholic Scouting programs as well as to the Church. The award is presented only through nomination by the Chartered Organization Representative and/or the Unit Committee of the Scoutís unit.  Final Selection is by a committee formed of prior recipients of the St. George Emblem.  A nomination form is available at the bottom of this page.

Youth Recognition Ceremony

All Cub Scout Emblems are to be presented in a ceremony at the Scouts Parish by his Priest, typically on Scout Sunday, the first Sunday in February.  All Boy Scout Emblems will be presented by the Bishop at a ceremony at the Cathedral of St. Joseph the Workman on Award Recognition Sunday typically in June.


   Light of Christ             Parvuli Dei         Ad Altare Dei          Pope Pius XII



                                                    Father Marquette


                                                Father Marquette Nomination Form


Copyright © 2007
Diocese of La Crosse Catholic Committee on Scouting